Loving L’oreal Lipstick |A Haul & Review

Recently I’ve been loving trying out new lip products for the coming spring season. Amidst my latest trip to my local drugstore I decided to pick up two L’oreal Infallible® Pro-Last Lipcolor products. Here you will find my personal opinions regarding the lip stains and some helpful tips for application and the purchasing process…Enjoy!


FullSizeRender-4


The Purpose: I was immediately drawn to this product due to the positive effects it ensured to have, as I was struggled with other lip stains being dehydrating and loosing their original color on my lips within hours.

L’oreal states that:

“This is the long-lasting, transfer-resistant color you’ve been searching for. The high-intensity color glides on with a moisturizing feel that lasts up to 24 hours.
The result: bold lips without the dry-out and no need to re-apply.”

IMG_0830

IMG_0836

Application: At first I was a bit confused as to how to apply this product as it has two different ends. One of them being a transparent balm, and the other, the actual lip color. I later discovered that you are to first apply the lip color and then use the balm on top to lock it in with moisture and ensure that it lasts all day.

I found that the lipcolor end was slightly difficult to apply as it was tricky to control the runny product. The consistency of the lipstick itself was quite watery when first applied to the lips, and I definitely had to use a few q-tips to perfect the edges of my lines and prevent smudging.

Subsequent to applying the color I would recommend waiting for your lips to  somewhat “dry” before going in with the balm side of the product. I found that when immediately using the transparent side after the first application it resulted in a bit of smearing on the lips and on the product itself.

Although I first struggled with the runny consistency of the product, after I eventually applied the balm side, my lips did feel quite moisturized and the texture of my lips was altered from wet (with product) to smooth and sealed in.

The balm side of the product
The balm side of the product

The Colors: I chose to purchase two very different colors, a vampy maroon called, “Raisin Revival” as well as a baby pink called, “Rose Tattoo.”

I ended up loving the raisin shade as it wasn’t too dark on my lips that it was overbearing- but definitely gave them the fun and vampy look I was going for. I love this color because it can be layered to create darker shades, or applied in one sheer coat for more of a magenta look.

On the other hand, I did not end up loving “Rose Tattoo” as it appeared as more of a nude on my lips than the light pink I was going for. The shade wasn’t too pigmented and seemed to wash me out. This was not what I was looking for. Bear in mind however, that this may be complementary to your own complexion as everyone is different! I think this shade was definitely pretty in the tube, but just didn’t seem to work with me.

Swatches of each shade
Swatches of each shade

My overall opinion: As a whole, I would definitley recommend the Infallible Pro-Lat Lipcolor by L’oreal. The product isn’t too pricey and definitely does what it promises. My lip color lasted all day and was even quite difficult to remove (which is a good sign, as it won’t fade!) The combination of the color and balm products left my lips feeling smooth and healthy- certainly not drying them out. There is a huge color selection ranging from pinks to violets so there is surely a shade for everyone! I would love to hear your opinions on this product in the comments below and any of your personal favorite lipsticks or stains at the moment!

Thanks so much for reading, don’t forget to like & comment if you enjoyed & follow me for more product reviews and makeup looks! 

With love xx

Screen Shot 2015-04-03 at 11.38.01 PM

23 comments

Leave your own thoughts!

